2. A book that was made into a movie

The girl on the train

by Paula Hawkins

“There’s something comforting about the sight of strangers safe at home.”

First of all, I never saw the movie. I’m not sure I ever will, not because I don’t want too, but perhaps because I don’t want to see the characters that came to my mind while reading, brought to life. I would never have given Rachel the face of Emily Blunt. I just don’t see it, but maybe that’s why I should go and see it. (I do like Emily Blunt, though.)

*****SPOILERS FROM HERE*****

Now for the story. I’m conflicted between liking it and hating it. I didn’t like Rachel at first, but I got to understanding her. Especially when I learned what happened between her and her ex-husband. What a horrible man. But Rachel is no angel either, and neither are “Jess and Jason” or Anna for that matter. It was a mess of a situation, it made it a mess to read too at some points. The narrative wasn’t always easy to follow, however that might be more because of Rachel’s condition.

I’m leaning towards not liking it, since the story ended rather perfect and somehow happily. Of course, a girl died and the circumstances of her demise were shocking and scandalous, yet all’s well that ends well. Rachel knows the truth, Anna knows the truth.

the-girl-on-the-train

Leave a Reply

