20. A book “everyone” but you has read

The Handmaids’ tale

By Margaret Atwood 

“Nolite te bastardes carborundorum”

*****Spoilers*****

This is one of the big titles right now. A very scary future, could this happen to us? I don’t think so. Yes, there are things going on in the world that scare us. And yes, we need to stand up for our right. As women , as men, as people. But to have our world taken away that easily? 

I hadn’t read this book until now. Mostly because it is on the #OurSharedShelf reading list,  I decided to give it a try. While I like my dystopian novel, I wasn’t impressed with this one. I understand the gaps in the story, it’s told by a woman who needs to survive, to adapt to be able to survive,  and memories tend to not always be so accurate. How deceiving it is, our mind. 

The biggest disappointment was the end. So sudden, so unexpected,  so lame. Maybe I’m too used to female heroines who aim to go out in a blaze of fire, and save themselves and the world doing so. Glorious. This was a candle fizzing out, with a epilogue that made little sense. Why didn’t they fight harder?

It’s not even a really Latin

Leave a Reply

